Tuesday, May 6, 2014

"The Shannara World" is a series of some 26 novels by author Terry Brooks.

The series began with the novel The Sword of Shannara, a blatant rip-off of J.R.R. Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings series. But it was a huge best-seller. It begat two sequels, The Elfstones of Shannara and The Wishsong of Shannara, which were original novels. Brooks subsequently published four more sequels, which form their own sequence because they do not rely on any of the characters of the first three novels, and are set some half-century later: The Scions of Shannara, The Druid of Shannara, The Elf Queen of Shannara, and The Talismans of Shannara.

Another TWENTY books followed. The novels have since shifted away from sword-and-scorcery and far more into steampunk, which has left fans angry and bitter.

No comments:

Post a Comment